The Best of GRReporter
flag_bg flag_gr flag_gb

Kenyan and Japanese winners at Athens Classical marathon again

08 November 2009 / 17:11:30  GRReporter
4091 reads


Kremena Koutsoukou

Josephat Kipkurui is the winner of the 27th Athens Classical Marathon. He ran 42 kilometers distance in 2 hours 13 seconds and 44 hundredths. The second and third places were also won by Kenyan contestants- Edwin Kipsome with 2:14:18 and Peus Mutuku Muasa with 2:14:39. Twelve minutes later, the Greek contestant Dimitris Theodorikakos from Olympiacos crossed the final with 2:26:20. The Japanese Akemi Ozaki was first from the women with 2:39:56.

After finishing Josephat Kipkurui said that the race was really hard because of the rain and added: “I could have made better time”.

“It’s the first time I am running at a classic marathon and I’m very happy and excited. I hope they will invite me next year too,” said after the finish line the winner Akemi Ozaki. At last year’s marathon the winners were also a Kenyan and Japanese – Nicolas Paul Lekuraa and May Tangami.

The race started off hard due to the weather. It was raining all morning but this was not an obstacle for more than 3 600 runners to start the marathon at 09:00AM from Marathonas village. Except for the classic marathon, organized were also 5 and 10 kilometer runs, 700m for children and 1000m for sportsmen with disabilities (Special Olympics).

In the 5km marathon for men and women were won respectively by Hristoforos Merousis and Denise Dikami. The fastest at the 10km marathon were Mohamed Bensalam and Dimitra Yordanidou. The 27 Classic Marathon was under the aegis of President Karolos Papoulyas and it was dedicated to democracy fighter Grigoris Lambrakis. The Friday night in Megaro Mousikis in Athens was also dedicated to him and a celebration dinner was organized. Present were famous Greek showbiz celebrities, politicians and musicians, among who was also composer Mikis Theodorakis (music author of the screened documentary for Grigoris Lambrakis).

During this year’s marathon special attention was paid to the environment. All plastic bags and water bottles, used by the runners during the race will be recycled, as an initiative of the Organizational Commission.

The Classic Greek marathon is the biggest sport event in Greece. It carries the recognition IAAF Silver Label 2009 of the International Association of Athletics Federation – IAAF. Few days ago representatives from the Greek sport clubs union announced that after a decision of IAAF, next year the Athenian marathon will be included as part of the “Golden” category marathons.

Marathon results (men):

  1. Josephat Kipkurui (Kenya)                    2:13:44
  2. Edwin Kipsome (Kenya)                        2:14:18
  3. Pius Mutuku Muasa (Kenya)                  2:14:39

Marathon results (women):

  1. Akemi Ozaki (Japan)                             2:39:56
  2. Bruktauit Degeffa Esetu (Ethiopia)       2:40:32
  3. Svetlana Kuhan (Belarus)                     2:40:54

Marathon results (5km men):

  1. Hristoforos Merousis                            15.59
  2. Kostas Drosos                                      16.17
  3. Panayotis Rigos                                    16.28

Marathon results (5km women):

  1. Denise Dimaki                                       17.52
  2. Paraskevi Katziakiori                             18.50
  3. Konstantina Tziovolou                           18.55

Marathon results (10km men):

  1. Mohamed Bensalam                              31.24
  2. Hristos Kalias                                        31.34
  3. Theodosis Kaldis                                   32.05

Marathon results (10km women):

  1. Dimitra Yordanidou                               38.19
  2. Maria Malay                                           39.47
  3. Pamela Toss                                         39.56
GRReporter’s content is brought to you for free 7 days a week by a team of highly professional journalists, translators, photographers, operators, software developers, designers. If you like and follow our work, consider whether you could support us financially with an amount at your choice.
You can support us only once as well.
blog comments powered by Disqus