The Best of GRReporter
flag_bg flag_gr flag_gb

Davis Cup in Athens

11 May 2010 / 08:05:56  GRReporter
5045 reads

Emanuela Karastoyanova

Players from 11 countries are participating in the tennis tournament for Davis Cup, which takes place in the Olympic tennis complex OAKA in Athens. Davis Cup is the biggest team competition in men's tennis and runs around the world. In Athens from May 10 to 15 in Group 3 of the zone Europe / Africa will compete San Marino, Luxembourg, Malta, Andorra, Albania, Armenia, Georgia, Greece, Iceland, Moldova, Montenegro. Greece participates with tennis players Teodorsos Angelinos, Alexandros Yakoupovich, Vasilis Mazarakis, Konstantinos Ikonomidis, and George Kalovelonis. In matches on the first day Greeks will take on competitors from Albania. Aleksandros Jakupovic plays against Flavio Dece, Theodoros Angelinos against Ferat Istrefi. Followed is a play in pairs by Aleksandros Jakupovic and Charalambos Kapogiannis against Genci Cakciri and Ferat Istrefi. The Moldavia team will play against San Marino. Thus Moldavian Albot Radu will play against Domeniko Vicni, Andrei Gorban against Diego Zonzini, and Radu Albot against Domeniko Vicini. Armenia will compete with Montenegro. Harutyn Sofyan against Daniel Danilovic, Khachatur Khachatryan against Goran Tosic, and Khachatur Khachatryan against Ljubomir Celebic. Followng is a play in pairs. Iceland will compete against Georgia. Icelander Raj Kumar Bonifacius will play against Lado Chikhladze, Jonsson Andri against George Tsivadze and Lado Chikhladze, Sigurdsson Leifur Sefton and Labadze Irakli. Malta will compete with Luxembourg - Agius Denzil against Mike Scheidweiler, Matthew Asciak against Muller Gilles, and Gatt Mark against Mike Scheidweiler. The winners of the tournament will qualify for the Group 2 zone Europe / Africa unofficial World Cup competition in tennis. 

Davis Cup tournament was held for the first time in 1900 as a competition between male teams of UK and USA. The most successful to date is the U.S. team, which has won with 32 editions and a total of 61 finals played.  Australia's team is the second most successful with 28 titles and 47 finals in total. Davis Cup teams are divided into one global group and 12 groups on a regional basis. At the highest level is the World group in which teams compete on the principle of direct elimination. In the lower groups participating are the American, Euro-African and Asian-Oceanic zone and in each of these areas involves four groups. Competitions in the different groups are held within four weekends of each year.  


Entrance to the Davis Cup in Athens is free.

Tags: Davis Cup Athens Greece tennis
GRReporter’s content is brought to you for free 7 days a week by a team of highly professional journalists, translators, photographers, operators, software developers, designers. If you like and follow our work, consider whether you could support us financially with an amount at your choice.
You can support us only once as well.
blog comments powered by Disqus